Letter to the Editor #17

There’s a big difference between being alone, and being lonely.

I’m in a very solitary job that’s labour intensive, yet after all these years I still enjoy my work. What is awful is the more isolating hours; meaning when I do have a chance to see somebody I can speak for hours on end, to have the human connection.

I’ve noticed that what matters the most is that we show compassion and respect – it doesn’t cost a thing, yet in the end it means a lot.

The quote by Plato rings true, being kinder than necessary helps, as it is difficult to know internal struggles we are all going through to varying degrees.

Leave a Reply

